The Station – A Brief History:
The “Little Stone Building” is a popular local landmark. It was built from locally quarried rocks by resident Charlie Mongan for his father, Richard. Mongan’s Conoco Station opened in 1931. For nearly twenty years, it was a successful service station, and was also a popular place for Oregon High School students to get pop and snacks and “hang out”. The Conoco Station was in operation until 1950.
After sitting vacant for several decades, the little stone cottage housed Jeannie’s Beauty Bar for a short time. It then sat vacant for another three decades, waiting for someone to give her a lot of TLC. John Lindhorst purchased the property in 2013. A complete renovation was completed in early 2015 and the charming building now is home to Ukulele Station America.